University of Education, Winneba

Company Name :   University of Education, Winneba
Website :
Address :   P. O. Box 25 Winneba,
Location :
Region :
Email :   [email protected] / [email protected]
Phone :   (033) 23 22021
Fax :   233-432-22268, 22269, 22360/22042, 22139/22140


The University of Education, Winneba (UEW) was established by government ordinance in 1992 as a University College and placed in a special relationship with the University of Cape Coast. It was established with the amalgamation of seven renowned Teacher Diploma awarding colleges located in different towns viz: * The Advanced Teacher Training College, Winneba * The Specialist Training College, Winneba * The National Academy of Music, Winneba * The School of Ghana Languages, Ajumako * The College of Special Education, Akwapim-Mampong * The Advanced Technical Training College, Kumasi and * The St. Andrews Agriculture Training College, Mampong-Ashanti The University was established as part of the Tertiary Education component of the Education Reform Programme which was launched by the Government of Ghana in 1987. UEW was mandated on establishment to train professional teachers and educational administrators for the pre-tertiary education sector in Ghana. These reforms were as a result of a re-appraisal of Ghana’s tertiary system. The first batch of 481 students was admitted in 1992. Today UEW boasts of over 11,481 full time students and 5,398 Distance Education students. Starting with eight (8) Academic Departments and the Institute for Educational Development and Extension (IEDE), the University now has twenty-nine (29) Academic Departments and Centres, six Faculties and twelve (12) Distance Education Regional Study Centres throughout the country. The University comprises of three campuses, the main campus is located at Winneba with satellite campuses in Kumasi and Mampong. Plans are at an advanced stage to establish another campus at Ajumako for the school of Languages Education. The total staff position is 1367.